About John

Anni and I were married almost nine years ago, on December 23, 2006. It was a gorgeous snowy day, in the mountains of Utah. Life has been amazing with this woman by my side, sharing my dreams, working alongside me, and being the sweet woman I’ve grown to love more and more as the years go by.

John-and-Anni-07-1024x679

I spent most of my growing up years in a suburb of Baltimore, Maryland. As far as city kids go, I was luckier than most. Our house had a natural stream running through the backyard, which created a wooded area where my brothers and I would play for hours.

My maternal grandparents lived in Utah, where they farmed land that had been in the family for several generations. My grandpa was a dry grain farmer. Every summer, we flew out to Utah and spent 6 weeks with them. As a teenager, I helped drive trucks during the wheat harvest. I have one old picture of my grandpa, checking on the wheat in his fields in the 1980s. He didn’t farm for very many more years after this picture was taken. He was such a good man.

In college, I got my bachelor’s degree in horticulture and a master’s in agriculture. I had plants growing in pots all around my apartment throughout college (my roommates were surprisingly tolerant). Now I work for a farm, and my wife and I live in the country. We do a LOT of gardening, and we really appreciate some of the old skills that everyone used to know. I’m so glad my wife learned how to can and cook and do so many things growing up. It has been a huge advantage for our home.